Friday, 26 May 2017

Friday 26th May 2017

1215 - 1330 Quarry & marsh (hot & sunny, 27c) - Common Blue, Small Heath, Dingy Skipper, Burnet Companion 8+, Mother Shipton 2, Latticed Heath, Speckled Wood 5. Whitethroat, Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Long-tailed Tit family group of about 8, Skylark over, Stock Dove 2, Linnet, Reed Bunting. < p > 1330 - 1400 Pools etc : Common Tern 2, LBb Gull 84, Herring Gull 3, Lapwing 2, Pied Wagtail, Swift 5, Swallow 3, Heron, Song Thrush, etc.
Common Blue male, and day-flying moths Burnet Companion & Mother Shipton this afternoon.

Wednesday, 24 May 2017

Wednesday 24th May 2017

1130 - 1230 sunny, 22c : Common Tern, LBb Gull 71, Herring Gull 5, LR Plover, Lapwing 2, Grey Wagtail 2, Pied Wagtail, Heron, Mute Swan pair + 5, GC Grebe 4, Whitethroat 2, Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Swallow 3, Buzzard, etc. Also Holly Blue 2, Red Admiral, GV White & Blue-tailed Damselfly.
Linnet on Monday (a bit distant!).

Monday, 22 May 2017

Monday 22nd May 2017

1000 - 1130 usual hazy sun, 15c : Oystercatcher, Lapwing, LR Plover, Common Tern, Swift 6, Swallow 7, GC Grebe 2, Heron, Mute Swan pair + 5 cygnets, Tufted Duck 4, LBb Gull 25, Herring Gull 2, Pied Wagtail 2, Blackcap 2, Whitethroat, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Reed Bunting, Linnet, Collared Dove 6, Buzzard, Sparrowhawk. Also Speckled Wood 2, Orange Tip 2m, Gv White 3.
Longhorn moth 2nd May.

Friday, 19 May 2017

Friday 19th May 2017

Thursday 18th May, evening - Ringed Plover still present (KMC).

Friday 19th May 1000 - 1115 rainy, 10c : LR Plover 2, Lapwing, GC Grebe 5, Heron, Grey Wagtail 2, Pied Wagtail 3, LBb Gull 41, Herring Gull 2, Swift 20+, Swallow 40+, House Martin 20+, Sand Martin 10, Whitethroat, Blackcap 2m, Chiffchaff, GS Woodpecker, Collared Dove 2, LT Tit 2, Chaffinch, etc.

Ringed Plover on 17th May.

Wednesday, 17 May 2017

Wednesday 17th May 2017

1030 & 1230, rain 11c : Ringed Plover, Little Ringed Plover 2, LBb Gull 58, Herring Gull 6, Bh Gull 9, GC Grebe 2, Heron, Swift 8, Swallow 80+, House Martin 10+, Sand Martin 6, Jay, Whitethroat. (KMC / GWR)
Enjoying a swim in the rain this morning...

Tuesday, 16 May 2017

Tuesday 16th May 2017

1200 - 1245 rainy, 16c : 41 large gulls, mainly Lesser Black-backed and a few Herrings & a Yellow-legged Gull (photo), Little Ringed Plover 2, Common Sandpiper, Lapwing 2, Little Egret, Cormorant, Mute Swan pair + 5 cygnets, GC Grebe 4, Heron 2, Pied Wagtail 5, Kestrel, Swift 12+, a few Swallows & House Martins, Stock Dove 2, Whitethroat, Chiffchaff, Reed Bunting, etc.

Saturday, 13 May 2017

Saturday 13th May 2017

1230 cloudy 12c : Mute Swan 5 cygnets hatched, Lapwing 2, Collared Dove, Whitethroat, Chiffchaff, Swift 25+, Swallow 3, House Martin 2 & also 6+ at Winterley Lane nests.

Thursday, 11 May 2017

Thursday 11th May 2017

Wednesday 10th May, evening - Greenshank 2 flew north towards quarry, LR Plover 6, Common Sandpiper, Common Tern, Bh Gull darvic-ringed bird bearing ring from Marsh Lane NR 2016. (Kev Clements).

Thursday 11th May 1015 - 1130 sunny, 17c : Ring-necked Parakeet over to south & calling, Heron 2, GC Grebe 2, Swift 5, Swallow 2, Whitethroat 2, Willow Warbler 2, Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Lt Tit 2, Wren pair with 4 fledglings, Robin juv., Kestrel 2, Linnet 2, Reed Bunting 2. Also Dingy Skipper, Orange Tip 2m, Small White, Longhorn moths 5.

Just-fledged Wren & Dingy Skipper this morning.

Monday, 8 May 2017

Monday 8th May 2017

1100 - 1200 cloudy, 8c : Greenshank 2, Common Sand. 2, LR Plover 2, Lapwing 2, Grey Wagtail 2, Pied Wagtail 3, Swift/Swallow/Sand Martin/House Martin 30+, Whitethroat 2, Chiffchaff, Kestrel.
Greenshank today.

Sunday, 7 May 2017

Sunday 7th May 2017

0820 - 1100 sunny 9 - 11c : Greenshank 2, Wood Sandpiper, Common Sandpiper, Common Tern 3, Lapwing 4, Grey Wagtail 2, Pied Wagtail 3, Whitethroat 5, Blackcap m (photo), Willow Warbler 3, Chiffchaff, Swift 10, Swallow 6, Reed Bunting 2, Kestrel, etc. Also Orange Tip f, Gv White 2, Speckled Wood & a Fox.

Saturday, 6 May 2017

Saturday 6th May 2017

1300 - 1400 overcast, 9c : Wood Sandpiper, Greenshank 2, Dunlin, Common Sandpiper 2, LR Plover 3, Lapwing 3, Grey Wagtail 2, Pied Wagtail 3, GC Grebe 2, Heron, Swift 12, House Martin 10+, Swallow & Sand Martin 40+, Whitethroat, Chiffchaff, Reed Bunting m, Kestrel, Buzzard, Jay. 6 Yellow Wagtails om southern bank at 1930 & Kingfisher at Swan Pool (KMC / GWR / PPN). Cheers Kevin!
Wood Sand. & Greenshank seen in poor light today.

Friday, 5 May 2017

Friday 5th May 2017

1030 - 1130 sunny but easterly wind, 15c : Swift 18, Grey Wagtail 3, Pied Wagtail 2, Raven, Common Sandpiper, LR Plover, Oystercatcher, Common Tern 2, GC Grebe 4, Whitethroat, Blackcap 3, Reed Bunting, Linnet 2, Greenfinch 2, Heron, Mute Swan pair, Kestrel 2, Buzzard 4. Also Orange Tip f & Gv White.
Orange Tip on 30th April.

Tuesday, 2 May 2017

Tuesday 2nd May 2017

0930 - 1100 sunny, breezy, 11c : Swift 4, Swallow 5, Sand Martin 5, Common Sandpiper 2, Oystercatcher, Lapwing 2, Common Tern 2, GC Grebe 4, Mallard with 7 small ducklings, Whitethroat 2, Blackcap 2, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Great Spotted Woodpecker, Mistle Thrush, LT Tit 4, Linnet 2, Reed Bunting 4, Buzzard 3. Also seen - Orange Tip 2m, Gv White, Small Tort.3, Longhorn moths 20+, Hornet.
Black Tern yesterday & Swift this morning.

Monday, 1 May 2017

Monday 1st May 2017

Barr Beacon 0845 - 0915 rainy, 9c : Ring Ouzel 2, Wheatear 6, Yellow Wagtail, Kestrel, Buzzard, Blackcap.

Stubbers Green 0925 - 0945 rain, 9c : Black Tern, Common Tern, Common Sandpiper, LR Plover 2, Oystercatcher 2, Whitethroat, Blackcap, a few hirundines, Pied Wagtail, Long-tailed Tit pair.

Ring Ouzels and Wheatears in the rain at Barr Beacon this morning.

Sunday, 30 April 2017

Sunday 30th April 2017

1530 : very little about , Lapwing 4, Blackcap, a few hirundines and Pied Wagtails.

Saturday, 29 April 2017

Saturday 29th April 2017

0930 - 1130 cloudy, 10c : Common Sandpiper, LR Plover 2, Oystercatcher 2, Lapwing 2, Whitethroat, Blackcap 2m, Willow Warbler 2, Chiffchaff, Swallow 12, House Martin 4, Sand Martin 10, GC Grebe 4, Mallard ducklings 8, Reed Bunting 4, Pied Wagtail 4, LBb Gull 5, Collared Dove 2, Buzzard. Also Orange Tip 3m & Longhorn moths 12+.
Pied Wagtails.

Thursday, 27 April 2017

Thursday 27th April 2017

1015 - 1130 rainy, cold, 7c : LR Plover 3, Lapwing 2, Swallows & Martins 50+, Greylag 2, GC Grebe 4, Blackcap, Willow Warbler, Pied Wagtail 2 (7 later), Stock Dove 2, Jay, Kestrel.
Whitethroat on 25th April.

Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Wednesday 26th April 2017

0645 - 0745 sunny but cold breeze, 1c : Common Sandpiper 2, Lapwing, Oystercatcher, Teal 7, Common Tern, Little Egret, Heron 2, GC Grebe 4, Swallow 12, Sand Martin 30+, Blackcap 2, Whitethroat, Willow Warbler, Long-tailed Tit 2, LBb Gull 7, Red Fox (photo's).

Tuesday, 25 April 2017

Tuesday 25th April 2017

0945 - 1130 bright sun but cold NW wind, 3 - 5c : Lesser Whitethroat, Sedge Warbler, Whitethroat, Blackcap 2, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff 2, Sand Martin 12, Swallow 5, House Martin 4, Common Sandpiper, Oystercatcher 2, Lapwing, Tufted 33, Linnet 2, Reed Bunting, Buzzard. Mistle Thrush at Anchor Meadow.

Also Speckled Wood 2, Small Tortoiseshell, Orange Tip, Longhorn moths 5 & Red Fox 2.

Orange Tip (female) & Longhorn moth this morning.

Monday, 24 April 2017

Monday 24th April 2017

1130 - 1230 rain, 9c : Swallow 60+, Sand Martin 50+, House Martin 12, Common Sandpiper, Little Ringed Plover 2, Lapwing, Greylag, Tufted 34, GC Grebe 2, Heron, LBb Gull 3, Herring Gull, Blackcap, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff 2, Pied Wagtail 5.
Swallows & Martins today.

Sunday, 23 April 2017

Sunday 23rd April 2017

0915 - 1030 becoming cloudy, 8 - 10c : Wheatear, Common Sandpiper, Swallow 3, Sand Martin 7, Blackcap 2, Chiffchaff 3, Willow Warbler 2, Reed Bunting pair, Linnet pair, Greenfinch m, House Sparrow 5, LBb Gull 4, Little Egret, Cormorant juv, GC Grebe 4, Lapwing 5, Pied Wagtail, Collared Dove 2, Rook 2, etc. Also Small Tortoiseshell, Orange Tip m & Green-veined White.

Mid afternoon (sunny, 15c) added - Yellow Wagtail at quarry, Common Tern, at least 5 Willow Warblers & 3 Blackcaps, Kestrel, Buzzard, Heron 2, Stock Dove 4, Green Woodpecker and a Fox. Also Comma, Orange Tip 6, Small White 3, Speckled Wood 2, Metallic Longhorn moths 2.

Wheatear, Common Tern & Willow Warbler today.

Saturday, 22 April 2017

Saturday 22nd April 2017

0920 - 1130 sunny, 11c : Whitethroat, Blackcap 2m & f, Willow Warbler 4, Chiffchaff 2, Swallow 3, Sand Martin 8, House Martin 2, Common Tern, Common Sandpiper, Oystercatcher 2, Lapwing 3, GC Grebe 5, Little Egret, Pied Wagtail 2, Kestrel 2, Green Woodpecker, Stock Dove 5, House Sparrow 2, Chaffinch 4, Linnet 2, Goldfinch 4, Reed Bunting 2, + usuals. Also seen - Small Tortoiseshell 5, Orange Tip 4m & 2f, Green-veined White, Speckled Wood 3, Hornet.
Whitethroat & pair of Kestrels today.

Wednesday, 19 April 2017

Wednesday 19th April 2017

1545 - 1630 cloudy, 10c : Common Tern 2, Common Sand., Lapwing 6, Little Egret 2, Cormorant, GC Grebe 4, Teal 5, Swallow 3, Sand Martin 8, Blackcap, Chiffchaff, Willow Warbler, Collared Dove 2, Long-tailed Tit 2, Chaffinch 4, Mallard with 3 small ducklings & a pair of Coots with 3 cootlets.
Green-veined White yesterday.

Tuesday, 18 April 2017

Tuesday 18th April 2017

1000 - 1220 sunny, NE breeze, 7 - 10c : Common Sandpiper 2, LR Plover 2, Oystercatcher 3, Lapwing 5, GC Grebe 3, Little Egret, Heron, Wheatear on southern horsefield, House Martin 4, Swallow 5, Sand Martin 12+, Blackcap 2, Willow Warbler 5, Chiffchaff, GS Woodpecker m, Pied Wagtail 2, Rook, LBb Gull 7, Song Thrush, Reed Bunting 2m, Linnet 4, Chaffinch 4, Stock Dove 2, Sparrowhawk, Kestrel, Buzzard 2, etc. Also seen - Orange Tip 2m, Green-veined White 2, Speckled Wood, & hundreds of tadpoles at the marsh!
Haze obscuring sunlight due to planes chem-trailing.

Sunday, 16 April 2017

Sunday 16th April 2017

1100 - 1130 cloudy, windy, 10c : Common Sandpiper, LR Plover 2, Tufted 46, M.Swan pair, Cormorant 2, LBb Gull 3, GC Grebe 7, Swallow 12, Sand Martin 25+, Blackcap 2m (photo), Chiffchaff, CHaffinch pair, etc.

Saturday, 15 April 2017

Saturday 15th April 2017

1630 - 1700 fairly sunny but breezy, 11c : Wheatear (photo), Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff, Blackcap, Swallow 2, LR Plover 2, Lapwing 3, Little Egret, Cormorant 2, Long-tailed Tit 2.

Thursday, 13 April 2017

Thursday 13th April 2017

1430 - 1600 cloudy, 9c : Oystercatcher 2, Lapwing 3, LR Plover 2, Common Sandpiper, Shoveler, Teal 2, GC Grebe 6, Heron 2, Cormorant 3, LBb Gull 3, Swallow 9, Sand Martin 25+, Blackcap m, Willow Warbler 2, Chiffchaff 2, Pied Wagtail 6, Collared Dove 2, Linnet pair, Chaffinch pair.
One of today's Pied Wagtails.

Wednesday, 12 April 2017

Wednesday 12th April 2017

0920 - 1030 cloudy, SW wind, 9c : Swallow 40+, Sand Martin 15, Willow Warbler, Chiffchaff 2, LR Plover 2, Little Egret 2, Heron, Shoveler m, GC Grebe 4, Cormorant 3, GS Woodpecker m, Collared Dove 2, Song Thrush, Pied Wagtail mating pair + another 2, Kestrel.

At 1615 a Peregrine went over to the south and 2 House Martins had joined the other hirundines.

Goosanders on 26th March.